Committee details


Purpose of committee

South Cambridgeshire District Council consists of 45 Members, otherwise known as councillors.  Councillors must be registered voters in South Cambridgeshire or live or work within the district.  Further details, including the roles and functions of Councillors and the recognition of political groups are available in Part 2 Article 2 of the Constitution.


The Annual meeting in May elects the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and, once every four years, the Leader of the Council. While the Chairman and Vice-Chairman in effect have ceremonial roles to play, the Leader is concerned more with the political and service aspects of the Council and of its relationship with South Cambridgeshire residents and organisations, and local and national government.  The Leader acts as Chairman of the Executive (Cabinet), and appoints the Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holders.  Council also meets in February each year to approve the budget and set the Council Tax, and on other agreed dates, approximately once every two months.


Further details, including the functions and types of Council meetings, are available in Part 2 Article 4 of the Constitution.


Members of the public are invited to submit questions to the Council, Committee Chairmen, the Leader and/or members of the Cabinet at meetings of full Council, subject to guidelines.


Members of the public may submit representations at meetings of the Full Council on any business specified in the agenda for the meeting, no later than 15 minutes before the start of the meeting, subject to guidelines.


Contact information

Support officer: Democratic Services. 03450 450 500 Email:

Postal address:
South Cambridgeshire Hall
Cambourne Business Park
CB23 6EA

Phone: 03450 450 500

Fax: 01954 713149


Web site: